Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeNewsSpringbok stalwart's World Cup dream dashed

Springbok stalwart’s World Cup dream dashed

- Advertisement -
RUGBY: Springbok and 'A' Squads Named for Europe Tour
RUGBY: Springbok and ‘A’ Squads Named for Europe Tour. Picture features Siya Kolisi and Jacques Nienaber. Photos: SARugby

With Damian Willemse fully fit and Handre Pollard well on the mend, it was confirmed this past weekend that Springbok stalwart Elton Jantjies has been officially released from the team and would not be included in the World Cup squad.

It’s clear that he will not be heading to the World Cup unless there is an injury that requires him to be called up.

READ | World Cup last chance saloon: Springbok squad heading to Argentina

- Advertisement -

It comes not long after Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber clearly stated that the veteran is now the fourth-choice flyhalf in the squad behind Pollard, Willemse and Libbok after an 18 month period where Jantjies has endured numerous struggles on and off the field.

ALSO READ: Unpopular opinion: Springboks’ All Blacks loss was also a WIN

Although Jantjies played a key role in the Bok squad at the last World Cup, it’s clear he won’t be named among the 33-man squad that will be revealed on Tuesday, 8 August.

Springboks Elton Jantjies
Elton Jantjies. Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

VIDEO | Williams collision: Rugby incident or red card?

Nienaber will announce his matchday squad to face Argentina in Buenos Aires on Tuesday.

The Springboks will face Wales in Cardiff (Saturday, 19 August) and New Zealand at Twickenham (Friday, 25 August) in their final warm-up matches before travelling to Corsica for a one-week training camp en route to France for the Rugby World Cup.

PLAYER RATINGS: Etzebeth delivers monsterclass for Springboks



Thomas du Toit, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Gerhard Steenekamp, Trevor Nyakane.


Bongi Mbonambi, Joseph Dweba.


Lood de Jager, Jean Kleyn, Marvin Orie.

Loose forwards

Jean-Luc du Preez, Evan Roos, Jasper Wiese.

Utility forwards:

Deon Fourie, Franco Mostert.


Jaden Hendrikse, Herschel Jantjies, Cobus Reinach.


Manie Libbok.


Lukhanyo Am, Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel.

Outside Backs

Makazole Mapimpi, Canan Moodie, Kurt-Lee Arendse.

Utility back:

Damian Willemse.

ALSO READ: Dominant forwards power sloppy Springboks to victory

Players remaining in South Africa:


Pieter-Steph du Toit (loose forward), Eben Etzebeth (lock), Siya Kolisi (loose forward), Frans Malherbe (prop), Malcolm Marx (hooker), Ox Nche (prop), Kwagga Smith (loose forward), RG Snyman (lock), Marco van Staden (loose forward), Duane Vermeulen (No 8).


Damian de Allende (centre), Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf), Cheslin Kolbe (wing), Willie le Roux (fullback), Handre Pollard (flyhalf), Grant Williams (scrumhalf).

- Advertisment -

Most Popular